Saturday, March 26, 2016

inSPIREd Sunday

January 2016 - Guadalajara Mexico

On 16 de Septiembre Avenue in the Historic Center is a temple dating from 1580: the Temple of San Francisco de Asis. This church replaced the Franciscan convent founded by Friar Antonio de Segovia in Analco previously.
The original convent was of adobe, very simple. Where the gardens are now, was once the atrium of the church.
Over the years it has suffered several reconstructions and modifications. By the eighteenth century this compound included six chapels, the convent, some orchards and a cemetery, but in the mid nineteenth century it began to divide. In the twentieth century suffered a terrible fire and in the middle of this century was rebuilt as we know it today.
Its baroque facade has three bodies with columns and on each side with statues of San Buena Ventura and San Antonio and above those of Santo Domingo and San Francisco.

San Judas Tadeo, is officially the saint associated with difficult circumstances, but more recently has been associated with delinquents, with the idea that the saint hears the petitions of both the good and the bad.

Sebastian de Aparicio y del Pardo, O.F.M., was a Spanish colonist in Mexico shortly after its conquest by Spain, who after a lifetime as a rancher and road builder entered the Order of Friars Minor as a lay brother. He spent the next 26 years of his long life as a beggar for the Order and died with a great reputation for holiness. He has been beatified by the Catholic Church.


This blog does not allow anonymous comments.