May 2019 - Rome Italy
The church of the Saints Ambrogio and Carlo al Corso is the national church of the Lombards, to whom in 1471 Pope Sixtus IV gave, in recognition of their valuable construction work of the Sistine Chapel, the small church of S. Niccolò del Tufo, which was first restored and then dedicated to S. Ambrogio, the patron saint of Milan.
The ground plan is based on the Latin cross. The dome, resembling that of Santi Luca e Martina, was designed by Pietro da Cortona (1668), who was also responsible for the apse and rich internal decorations.
Altar to St. Charles Borromeo in the crypt housing his heart; painting by Giacinto Brandi; above it the crown of the Borromeo and "Humilitas", their family motto.
Ceiling designed by Pietro da Cortona which surrounds "Fall of the Rebel Angels", a painting by Giacinto Brandi.
10th Station of the Cross