Saturday, September 23, 2017

inSPIREd Sunday

Sally and Beth host inSPIREd Sunday!  

August 2017 - Stratford ON

On a day trip to Stratford, we saw this church and I wish it had been opened as the stained glass is supposed to be spectacular.

St. James' Church celebrated its 150th anniversary as a Parish in 1990. The present building was dedicated by Benjamin Cronyn, Bishop of Huron in 1870. It is the third church to be built on this site. The first organ was installed in 1874, rebuilt in 1902, and several times since... most recently in 2006. In 2010, the original 11 bells were removed from the tower for tuning. When they were reinstalled, four new ones were added bringing the total to 15 bells. The largest weighs 955 kilos (2100 lbs) and is called Big Joe. The blue carpet in the sanctuary is actually a section from that of the coronation of Queen Elizabeth in Westminster Abbey, 1953.

God's Holy Acre
... early parishioners of St. James', and some others were interred within its shadows...

According to early custom the land surrounding a church was used as a cemetery, and so the early parishioners of St. James' and some others, were interred within its shadows. A Mrs. John Sharman was the first person interred, but the date of her funeral and the exact location of her grave are unknown. From 1854 to 1855 only members of the United Church of England and Ireland could be interred here. From 1855 to 1859 non-members were accepted for burial on the payment of a one pound fee, but the burial service of the Church had to be used. From 1859 to 1871 only members of the Anglican Church were accepted for burial. The last burial took place in 1871 and was of a Jane Ballough, wife of Charles Lee.

In 1885 the Right Reverend M.S. Baldwin, D.D., Bishop of Huron, dedicated part of the cemetery for use by members of St. James'. Ashes are presently being scattered in this acre.

Click here for a tour of Stratford and its amazing Shakespearean Gardens.


This blog does not allow anonymous comments.