Our World Tuesday
October 2013 - Toronto ON
Last week we went to Black Creek Village, where we hadn't been since 1992. It was a beautiful autumn day and we decided to have lunch first.
Lunch was good and tasty and everything was locally grown or produced. We had soup and quiche.
Tinsmith Shop and Masonic Lodge c1850
Original Location: Woodbridge, Ontario (north side of Woodbridge Avenue)
During the 1860's many towns and villages had a resident Tinsmith who crafted items for the home and farm. The Tinsmith Shop at Black Creek Pioneer Village used to be a hardware store on the main floor, while the second storey was the first home of the Masonic Lodge known as the Blackwood Lodge. Named for Thomas Blackwood, a highly respected Freemason in the community at that time, the Lodge was used regularly throughout the 1870's. In 1900 the building was moved back from the street In 1983 it was dismantled and brought to BCPV for restoration. A joint project between the Freemasons of Ontario and The Metropolitan Toronto and Region Conservation Authority, the restored building was opened to the public in 1984.
Burwick House 1844
Original location: Woodbridge, Ontario (Pine Street)
This beautifully proportioned home was constructed by Rowland Burr in Woodbridge, a community then known as Burwick. The house is an extremely fine example of rural Georgian architecture with an imposing facade. This two storey building had a kitchen wing at the rear with an adjoining coach house. The building was constructed with mortise and tenon framing covered with clapboard, the interiors were finished with lath and plaster. On August 13, 1958, the front portion of Burwick House was moved to Black Creek Pioneer Village more or less intact, the kitchen wing was then reconstructed as authentically as possible. The barn was acquired separately and restored to original.
Daniel Flynn Boot and Shoe Shop c. 1858
Original Location: Newtonbrook, Ontario (Yonge Street, now north Toronto)
In 1963, architect Napier Simpson described the building, "This small building has traces of Classical architecture incorporated in its facade. No doubt the man who built it was aware of good taste in architecture. Realizing that his establishment was on the main thoroughfare (Yonge St.) and seen by many hundreds of people every day, he planned a well designed building. However the size of the building presupposes that it could only serve a very small business." Built about the same time as the Flynn home, the east side door would originally have provided easy access between shop and house. The Boot and Shoe Shop was opened to the public in 1963.
Dominion Carriage Works 1860
Original Location: Sebringville, Ontario (Perth County)
The carriage works building originally housed a blacksmith and wheelwright shop. In the 1870s the business prospered and enlarged into a full-fledged carriage works including an upholsterer and cabinet maker. With the development of automobiles in the 20th century the business for the carriage maker declined. The Dominion Carriage Works was operated on a limited basis by Mr. Ash until 1972. In 1973 the building was moved to Black Creek Pioneer Village complete with its original tools and patterns. Restoration and re-assembly was completed and the building was opened for viewing by the general public in 1976.
Doctor's House c. 1830
Original Location: Chinquacousy (Brampton), Ontario
The verandah with its curved copper roof is a welcome entrance to this timber frame home with wood sheathing and stucco finish. The home was originally a farm house designed to accommodate two generations of the family at once. With two front doors, completely separate upstairs and doors to close off each wing, two families could live separately in the same home. This design made the house ideal for the village doctor. With one section of the house used as living quarters, the other section served as the doctor's office and waiting room. The building was dismantled and moved to Black Creek Pioneer Village in 1973; once restored it was opened to the public in 1978.
Wilmot Township Hall 1858
Original Location: Baden, Ontario (Wilmot Township)
Jacob Beck built the Wilmot Township Hall in 1858, in Baden, Ontario, to house the Fifth Division Court of the County of Waterloo. The timber frame structure with clapboard siding and twelve windows was one of the most important public buildings in a growing community. Here an elected council met once a month to deal with issues of local government. As well the circuit judge presided over court regularly to settle small claims, contract disputes and property rights issues. The Town Hall is one of the locations where weddings are still performed at Black Creek Pioneer Village, for additional information please contact (416) 736-1740 ex.5444. The building was moved to Black Creek Pioneer Village in 1967 and restored in 1970.
Roblin's Mill 1842
Original location: Ameliasburg, Ontario (Prince Edward County)
Roblin's Mill was built in 1842 by Owen Roblin, the grandson of a United Empire Loyalist. When purchased by the Metro Toronto and Region Conservation Authority, the mill was scheduled for demolition. The original timbers, flooring and machinery were salvaged and moved to Black Creek Pioneer Village in 1964. When the Mill was moved to Black Creek Pioneer Village it was established that the original 1848 wheel measuring 30 ft. in diameter was not necessary to achieve the same results. In 1965 a replacement wheel of red oak measuring 18 feet in diameter was installed. The red oak did not prove to be as resistant to weathering as had been hoped and in August 1984 a new wheel made of white oak and weighing 6000 pounds was installed. Today, Roblin's Mill is the only operating stone mill in Toronto.
Charles Irvine's Weaver's Shop 1850
Original Location: Kettleby, Ontario
Located in the back portion of the Kettleby Temperance Hall the weaver's shop is in same building that houses the village printer. The weaver's shop was established with an "up to date" flying shuttle loom, and a large warping mill. With these tools the weaver could produce a wide range of textiles used in the household. During the early 1860's there were over 600 weavers located in small communities across Ontario.
Original Location: Sherwood, Ontario ( near Maple, Ont.)
This shop is a one and a half storey squared log home built on a random stone foundation. Thought to have been the first school in the Maple area, this little building was also used as a private home. The upper level with its low ceilings is unheated and unfinished, which is now used for storage. The main floor makes for an ideal workshop, housing the broom making equipment and living quarters. Moved to Black Creek Pioneer Village in 1963, the home was restored and opened to public in 1973.