August 2017 - Toronto ON
University of Toronto
Munk School of Global AffairsOriginally named the Dominion Meteorological Building, 315 Bloor Street W. was designed by Toronto architects Burke and Horwood. Completed in 1908-1909, it was constructed to serve as home to the Dominion Meteorological Service and as a meteorological observation centre. In the 1930s the Service notably developed a 24-hour weather service that was instrumental during the Second World War in the training of pilots to identify weather patterns rather than rely on radio communications. After the war the Observatory continued to operate as a meteorological observation centre well into the latter half of the 20th Century. On June 20, 1973, the Dominion Meteorological Building was added to the City of Toronto’s Inventory of Heritage Properties for its architectural contextual qualities
Originally called McMaster Hall and opened in 1881, it was financed by Senator William McMaster as a Baptiste Divinity School. McMaster University later moved to the city of Hamilton, and the University of Toronto took it over in 1936.
In 1963, The Royal Conservatory of Music moved into the building and have been there ever since. It was restored in the mid 2000s, at a cost of $5 million donated by former alumni of the conservatory, Mr and Mrs. Ian Ihnatowycz. Today, the historic portion of the whole property (this old part, as opposed to the newer one that houses Koerner Hall), is called Ihnatowycz Hall.
Emmanuel College has its origins in Victoria College, a Methodist college founded in 1836. From 1871 it operated a Faculty of Theology training candidates for the ministry of the Wesleyan Methodist Church. In 1884, with the merger of the Wesleyan Methodists and the Methodist Episcopal Church (MEC) into a single Methodist Church of Canada, the seminary the MEC had established at Albert University in 1857 merged into Victoria.
When the merger in turn to create the United Church of Canada took place in 1925, a number of congregations in the Presbyterian Church in Canada chose to remain a distinct denomination. Knox College, University of Toronto, founded as the Free Church rival to Queen's during the Disruption of 1843 and favourable to church union, was expected to serve as the new church's main seminary. However, the Legislative Assembly of Ontario awarded the building to the continuing Presbyterians. The faculty and most students of Knox left to form "Union College" with the Faculty of Theology at Victoria. Shortly renamed Emmanuel College, the new college became affiliated with the University of Toronto as a United Church of Canada seminary in 1925.The Emmanuel College, Toronto main building was designed by architect Henry Sproatt.
Built in 1902, Flavelle House contains the Rowell Room common room, staff offices, and the Edward L. Donegan Conference Centre. It is attached to the Jackman Law Building.
It was once the private residence of Sir Joseph and Lady Flavelle and is designated an historic site by the Toronto Historical Board. The building retains much of its unique architectural interest and, through the generosity of several benefactors, parts of it have been restored to their former elegance.
Falconer Hall was built in 1901 as a private home for millionaire and philanthropist Edward Rogers Wood.
Falconer Hall, which is next door to Flavelle House, houses several small classrooms, including the solarium, and the graduate program, including staff and student offices.