Sally and Beth host inSPIREd Sunday!
June 2016 - Toronto ON
Happened upon this church as we stepped off the King St. streetcar heading to the Distillery District.
Little Trinity Anglican Church, formerly Trinity East, is a parish of the Anglican Church of Canada located at 425 King Street East in the Corktown neighbourhood just east of downtown Toronto.
An Ontario Heritage Trust plaque at the site notes that the 1844 church is the oldest surviving church in the city.
The congregation was established July 12, 1842 by working-class families unwilling to pay the high pew prices at St. James', prices that excluded the poor, and so they built a church for all people.
The plaque states:Founded in 1842, this is the oldest surviving church in the city of Toronto. Under the patronage of the Right Reverend John Strachan, first Anglican Bishop of Toronto, funds were raised to start construction in 1843. Its first rector was the Rev. W.H. Ripley, and regular services commenced on February 18, 1844. Attended largely by industrial workers, it was known as "The Poor Man's Church", although such prominent citizens as William Gooderham, James Worts, Joseph Shuter, William Cawthra and Alexander Dixon were associated with the church in its early days. Gutted by fire in 1961, it has been restored to its early proportions and is a good example of early Gothic Revival architecture.